The NSCA Foundation and GIO Workers Compensation’s 28th National Safety Awards of Excellence is Australia’s longest running and independent awards that recognises outstanding work health and safety initiatives. For the 28th year, these awards continue to celebrate organisations and people that actively promote workplace health and safety as a cornerstone of elite business performance.

The awards are open to any Australian operating business, organisation, alliance or individual in the public or private sector, with a workplace health and safety initiative that complies with one of the nine categories.

Congratulations to the finalists who have now been announced and can be viewed here. Registrations are now open for the Gala Luncheon where all finalists are recognised and the winners will be announced. For more information and to register for the live stream click here

Important Dates

Monday, 1st MarchLaunch Event & Nominations Open
Friday, 18th June – Nominations Close
June-August – Judging period
Tuesday 24 August, 12:00noon AEST – Finalists announced, join us live
Wednesday, 8th December – Gala Luncheon in Sydney & Winners announced Register for the Live Stream


On Tuesday 24th August a live virtual event was held to announce the finalists for the 28th National Safety Awards of Excellence. View the finalists announcement below:

Want to know who took out the winning spots at the 27th National Safety Awards of Excellence? Click here to find the full list of winners, highly commended and finalists. A full list of previous winners can also be found here.

2019 National Safety Awards of Excellence - Winners