Below are a number of common questions in regards to the National Safety Awards of Excellence. If you have a question and can’t find the answer please contact us.

What is the judging process?

A panel of expert assessors appointed by the NSCA Foundation conduct the judging throughout June to August. The panel will consider the nominations on the basis of the written evidence submitted, taking into account the size of the organisation and the nature of the work being carried out. To ensure the progression of your nomination, please ensure your answers are informative and clear with any supporting evidence referenced.

Under certain circumstances, the judges may require further information about your submission. Award finalists may be selected based on a worksite assessment/ inspection and/or further questioning via in person or teleconference. All nominees must take reasonable steps to make themselves available for further questioning.

Are there any hints and tips to answering the questions?

Yes, download the 2021 Safety Awards Hints and Tips PDF.

When do nominations close?

Friday, 18 June, 11.59pm 2021 (AEST)

Is the word count of each question strict?

Yes. Answers per question should not exceed 500 words. There is no word limit for the supporting evidence provided. However, please only include relevant material and consider the amount of reading the Judges are required to undertake for each submission.

When will I find out the outcome of my application?

The contact person for the nomination will be notified of their outcome via email by late August / early September 2020.

We have entered the National Safety Awards of Excellence previously, are we eligible this year?

Yes. You are able to enter with a new initiative or with the same initiative as the previous year. Please note, if you are re-submitting the same initiative as the previous year, you must demonstrate a significantly improved return on investment.

Do you have to be an NSCA Foundation member to apply?

No. The Awards are open to members and non members, where current membership has no bearing on results.

How much does it cost to enter the National Safety Awards of Excellence?

There is no charge to enter this awards.

Can you apply for more than one award?

Yes. You can apply for as many awards as you choose, with either:

  • The same initiative across multiple categories; OR
  • Multiple initiatives within the same category; OR
  • Multiple initiatives across multiple category.

I am concerned about submitting private organisation information as part of the submission and supporting evidence. Will any of our submission be published?

Judges sign a confidentiality agreement, noting any conflicts of interest in judging certain organisations, prior to being supplied with the submission information.

In keeping with the spirit of sharing knowledge to promote Work Health and Safety management, winners and finalists agree to share their successful case studies with the public, unless specifically requested not to. Please note, submissions will not be published in their entirety.

Supporting evidence is strictly confidential and will not be disclosed to the public.

Can video evidence be used as part of the supporting evidence?

Yes. Once you are ready to submit your nomination in your online account, you will have the ability to add  attachments, where you can upload the video.

What are the terms, conditions and agreements of submitting a nomination?

Conditions of Entry can be viewed here or downloaded in PDF form.